Stourbridge chess club heading
knight crown design by Anthony BoswellClick to go to home pageClick here to view fixtures and resultsClick here to read what's been happeniingClick to play through members games (needs javascript)Click here to view links to sites of interestClick to view photos of membersClick here for instructions on how to find usClick to view a list of club members Click here for more information about joining

Last Updated 04/08/2019



Click on these links to scroll down to items

Club dinner

The chess club dinner was held at Vesuvio's restaurant (Victoria passage, stourbridge) on Wednesday 19th June at 7:30 pm. .

Pittaway Cup

On Monday 13th May Stourbridge beat a strong Mercia team to win the Pittaway cup.

The first division team had to overcome a 2.25 point handicap against second (but now promoted) division Mercia.

Z Koncki 184 10 A P McCumiskey 183
N Fallowfield 167 10 P Hurtado 180
G F Dyett 154 10 A Sadler 170
H Aboushady 142 ½ ½ J B Hunt 158
D Scriven 143½ ½ T L Fellows 160
P B Sharratt 149 10 J Phillips 141
J C Wilson 136½½ M Share 129
E Horwill 134 01 D Hodkinson 119

Well done to everyone who played, especially Nic and Greg who defeated higher graded opponents.

End of season blitz tournament

On Wednesday 8th May 13 players played in the "end of season" blitz tournament.

Players were split into 2 groups.

The "ungraded" group played 7 rounds of game in 6 minutes and the results were:

  • 1. Iren Treasure 5½
  • 2. Ethan Chan Smith 4½
  • 3. James Treasure 4
  • 4. Frank 3
  • 5. Tony Williams
  • =6th Seth Chan Smith 1
  • =6th Tom Williams 1

The "open" group played each other twice with 5 minutes per game per person. The results were:

  • 1. Jeremy Fallowfield 10
  • =2nd Nic Fallowfield 6
  • =2nd John Foxall 6
  • 4. Julie Wilson 3½
  • 5. Eric Horwill 2½
  • 6. Colin Woodall 2

Well done to everyone who played.

Tony Evers match

This annual friendly match against Halesowen was won by Halesowen (with some loaned Stourbridge players) on 17th July.

Tony Evers Memorial Match Results




Nic    Fallowfield    169



Mike  Hadley    151     

. Julie    Wilson    138



Tony Stokes     131

Peter     Seeley    137



Richard Wilkinson 123

John    Foxall    133



Paul Evans 124

. Eric    Horwill    131



Jeremy    Humphries    121

Ron    Evans    122



Peter Banks     102

Colin     Woodall    114



Tony Taylor      89

Steve    Alcock    97



Martin Hatherway     76

David     Wain UG



Joyce Evans          50

Tom    Williams UG



Trevor Tennant 47

Tony Williams UG



Ethan Chan Smith UG

Seth Chan Smith UG



Paul    Thomas  UG







AGM 2019

The club's AGM was held on 22nd May. The following awards were made:
  • The Presidents Cup, awarded for services to the club, was shared jointly by Dave Scriven (14th consecutive year) and Steve Alcock
  • The Denis Fernihough Trophy, awarded for most improved player, was presented to Trevor Tennant.
  • The Sydney Willets Trophy, awarded to the best club player, was presented to Hossam Aboushady.

ECF Membership

As you probably know, if you’re going to play in any chess leagues or congresses you now need to be a member of the ECF.

If you are joining the ECF for the first time, there is a guide available here:

If you were a member of the Federation last year and wish to renew your membership for the coming season you need the Guide to renewing your ECF membership

If you are unsure what type of membership you need the following link may be useful: different types of membership

Worcestershire Junior Chess Academy

During school term-time the club meets on most Saturday mornings 10:00 am to 11:45 am at King's School Worcester, next to the Worcester Cathedral. Enter from Castle Place WR1 2NB. Most sessions are supervised by Ray Collett.

If you would like to join us, please contact Ray Collett by e-mail or by telephone Worcester 454 754 before your child's first attendance.

See Worcester Junior Chess Academy for more information.